You are here

Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee (AIVC)

15 August 2019

Role of the AIVC

The Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee (AIVC) provides advice to the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) on the composition of the seasonal influenza vaccine to be supplied each year in Australia.

The meeting is held annually following the September World Health Organisation (WHO) strain consultation meeting, which makes a decision on vaccine composition for the Southern Hemisphere. At the meeting the committee reviews and evaluates current available data related to the epidemiology, antigenic and genetic analysis of recent circulating regional and southern hemisphere influenza isolates and serological responses to the previous season vaccines.

AIVC is not involved in any decision making process under the Therapeutic Goods Act 1989.

Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee (AIVC) members

The following are independent 'voting' members:

  • Professor Robert Booy is Head of the Clinical Research team at the National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS). He is a medical graduate of the University of Queensland (1984) and trained in Paediatrics at the Royal Children's Hospital, Brisbane. Over the past 10 years, Professor Booy has been increasingly recognised as an expert in the influenza field, supervising many studies addressing the burden and prevention of influenza disease in children and adults in the UK, Australia and among Muslim pilgrims to Saudi Arabia. In addition he has led intervention studies with new vaccines, new vaccine delivery methods and alternate methods for preventing disease and transmission such as antivirals and personal protective equipment.
  • Professor Katherine Kedzierska is currently an NHMRC Senior Research Fellow and Laboratory Head in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at University of Melbourne at the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity. Her research interests include human T cell immunity to pandemic, seasonal and newly emerged influenza viruses, anti-viral immunity in the young, the elderly and Indigenous Australians, viral escape and generation of immunological memory in human influenza infection.
  • Associate Professor Helen Marshall is Associate Professor in Vaccinology, in the School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health and Robinson Research Institute at the University of Adelaide and is the Medical Director of VIRTU, the Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, at the Women's and Children's Hospital. She has a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery, Doctorate of Medicine, Master in Public Health, Diploma in Child Health and a graduate of the Advanced Vaccinology Course, Pasteur Merieux Institute, France.
  • Emeritus Professor Greg Tannock currently holds a position as a Burnet Institute Visiting Fellow at the Burnet Institute in Melbourne, Victoria. His current research interests include enhancement of influenza B virus growth in eggs, development of live attenuated vaccines against influenza, development of broad-spectrum antivirals against human respiratory viruses and improved methodologies for detection of human respiratory viruses.

The Directors of the WHO National Influenza Centres in Australia are ex-officio 'voting' members.

Non-voting ex-officio members are:

  • the Director and Deputy Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza;
  • the Directors of the WHO National Influenza Centres in New Zealand and South Africa;
  • four officers of the Department of Health nominated by the Chief Medical Advisor (CMA) of the TGA, one of whom will also be nominated as the Chairperson.

AIVC meeting dates

  • 9 October 2019

Contacting AIVC

Phone +61 2 6232 8665
Mobile +61 468 609 842
Fax +61 2 6203 1250
Postal address Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee
Therapeutic Goods Administration
PO Box 100
Woden ACT 2606
Attn: Scheduling & Committee Support Section, MDP 122