Advisory Committee on Chemicals Scheduling (ACCS)

18 January 2017

Role of the ACCS

The ACCS was established to advise and make recommendations to the Secretary of the Department of Health (or delegate) on the level of access required for medicines and chemicals.

Under revised scheduling arrangements, which took effect on 1 July 2010, the Secretary to the Department of Health or the Secretary’s delegate) superseded the National Drugs and Poisons Schedule Committee (NDPSC) as the decision maker for the scheduling of medicines and chemicals.

Scheduling is a classification system that controls how medicines and chemicals are accessible to consumers. Medicines and chemicals are grouped into schedules according to the appropriate level of regulatory control over their availability (e.g. Schedule 4 - medicines available only by prescription; Schedule 2 - medicines available over the counter in pharmacies).

Membership comprises of professionals with specific scientific, medical or clinical expertise, as well as appropriate consumer health issues relating to medicines. Further information on membership (including the chair) of the ACCS will be provided in early 2017.

Nominated members

  • Dr Kerry Nugent
  • Ms Renae Beardmore
    Australian Capital Territory
  • Mr Peter Gilfedder
    New South Wales
  • Ms Lisa Hall
    Northern Territory
  • Ms Uma Rajappa
  • Dr David Simon
    South Australia
  • Mr Sam Halliday
  • Mr Tim Bownas
  • Ms Jane Carpenter
    Western Australia

2017 Meeting dates and decisions timeframes

Stakeholders should note that the timetable outlines the anticipated administrative timeframes associated with matters for the advisory committee. This timetable also reflects public consultation timeframes as required by legislation.

Contact details for the ACCS

Phone +61 2 6232 8734
Fax +61 2 6203 1250
Postal Address Advisory Committee on Chemicals Scheduling
Department of Health
MDP 71
GPO Box 9848
Canberra ACT 2601