Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines (ACNM)

2 March 2015

Role of the ACNM

The Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines (ACNM) was formed in January 2010. The ACNM advise and make recommendations to the TGA regarding the entry of non-prescription medicines on the Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods (the Register). This includes:

  • inclusion of a non-prescription medicine on the Register
  • changes to an entry of a non-prescription medicine on the Register
  • removal or retention of a non-prescription medicine on the Register.

ACNM may also provide advice to the TGA on other matters concerning a non-prescription medicine, and any other matters referred to it by the TGA.

The ACNM supersedes the Medicines Evaluation Committee (MEC).

ACNM members


Mr David Newgreen was appointed as chair of the Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines from 2011 after having been a member of the committee and its predecessor, the Medicines Evaluation Committee, since 1999. He is a registered pharmacist, working part-time at the Victorian Pharmacy Authority and in community pharmacy and holds many Honorary Associate Fellow and Lecturer positions. He lectures on drug control at several universities and has published on the subject. He was formerly president of the Victorian branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and has held several other significant pharmaceutical-related positions in the Department of Health, Victoria. Mr Newgreen provides expertise in the field of community pharmacy.


  • Dr Maria Apostolopoulos is a registered pharmacist with extensive experience in community pharmacy, as an owner, and as an accredited consultant pharmacist conducting medication reviews. She has previously worked as a pharmacist in general and psychiatric hospital settings. Dr Apostolopoulos completed a PhD in the field of psychiatry, and lectures in psychopharmacology at the School of Psychology at the Deakin University. Dr Apostolopoulos provides expertise in the fields of community pharmacy and pharmacology.
  • Dr Brian Creese is an independent consultant with extensive expertise in nonclinical and early-stage drug development. He has previously worked as an academic researcher and as a nonclinical evaluator with the Therapeutic Goods Administration. He is also a member of the Advisory Committee on Biologicals. Dr Creese provides expertise in the field of toxicology.
  • Professor Joan Faoagali is an Adjunct Professor within the Department of Microbiology at the University of Queensland, and is an Adjunct Professor at Griffith University. Professor Faoagali has extensive experience in medical (clinical) microbiology and infection control issues. Professor Faoagali provides expertise in microbiology.
  • Dr Genevieve Gabb is a senior staff specialist in general medicine at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and visiting medical officer at the Veterans Heart Clinic, Repatriation Hospital South Australia. She has extensive clinical experience in general and cardiovascular medicine and an interest in therapeutic drug safety. Dr Gabb is a member of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology, and also a member of the Advisory Committee on the Safety of Medicines. Dr Gabb provides expertise in the field of specialist medical practice in Australia (general medicine).
  • Associate Professor John Gullotta AM is a General Practitioner and a registered pharmacist. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Sydney Medical School. He serves on numerous Medical and Pharmaceutical advisory bodies, is a member of the Advisory Committee on Medicines Scheduling, and is a previous Chair of the Federal Australian Medical Association Therapeutics Committee. Associate Professor Gullotta provides expertise in general medical practice.
  • Associate Professor Henry Kilham is a senior staff specialist at the Children's Hospital at Westmead, working in general paediatric medicine and clinical ethics. He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Sydney and is an Associate in the Department of Values, Law and Ethics in Medicine of that university. Associate Professor Kilham provides expertise in specialist medical practice (paediatric medicine) and toxicology.
  • Dr Lisa Pont is a Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacy at the Sydney Nursing School, University of Sydney. She is a registered pharmacist, with experience in both hospital and community pharmacy in NSW and Tasmania. Dr Pont provides expertise in community pharmacy practice.
  • Mrs Mary Sharpe is a registered pharmacist who has extensive experience in pharmacy practice. She has been involved in many areas of pharmacy practice including community pharmacy, drug education (establishing the Tasmanian Drug Education Network as its inaugural Program Manager). Mrs Sharpe has worked in both Commonwealth and State Departments of Health. Her work for the last 13 years has included a role as a regulator responsible for the Tasmanian Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Acts and Chief Pharmacist for the Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services. Mrs Sharpe provides expertise in the field of community pharmacy.
  • Professor Andrew Somogyi is a Professor in Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology at the School of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide. He is a member of the Editorial Advisory Committee of the Australian Medicines Handbook. Professor Somogyi is also a registered pharmacist, and provides expertise in toxicology and pharmacology.

ACNM meeting dates

ACNM planned meeting dates 2015

Meeting date
2 April 2015 (Cancelled)
6 August 2015
3 December 2015

The TGA finalises and sends evaluation reports to sponsors one month prior to the scheduled meeting date.

Contacting the ACNM

To contact the ACNM Secretary:

Phone +61 2 6232 8024
Fax +61 2 6203 1250
Postal address The Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines
Therapeutic Goods Administration
PO Box 100
Woden ACT 2606